In my quest to piss off all the bad fitness professionals out there I’m amazed by the constant flow of idiotic, reckless and worrying behaviour I see on display by the very people who are running gyms.

This week I heard of a gym manager in Wakefield, UK who having realised that, despite crossing his fingers and praying other gyms continue to exist has now banned the clothing from other gyms from being worn in his gym.

jkwt9

His hope is that people will forget that other gyms are a fact because they clearly are easily swayed by the magical fabric influence that is the t-shirt.

“Is that a Pure Gym t-shirt I see before me?

I must leave at once if they have clothing as majestic as that!”

Said no-one ever.

How insecure is that?

“Why did you leave your previous gym Sir?”

“I saw a t-shirt mid-session and at that point I just knew I needed to follow the yellow brick road and find the holy grail of gym apparel. I instantly cancelled my membership upon seeing a better gym t-shirt.”

No-one changes gyms because of a t-shirt!

People switch memberships all the time. Get over yourself!

Dictating where a member of their gym is allowed to buy their gym clothing from!

What if they have no other gym clothing and need to pay the rent? Or feed the kids?

I’m appalled!

th

If your gym treats you like this then leave. If you’re a Personal Trainer in a facility with rules like this then find another one.

They clearly need to spend less time worrying about what people wear to the gym and more time improving the services they offer.

Or maybe they need to quit now, get out of the fitness industry and find a cave to live in where they can put into place as many backward rules into place as they want.

So if you run a gym, hate money, hate good service and want your members to instantly lose respect for you…. you should start dictating what gym clothes they are allowed to wear going far beyond mere health and safety.

You should then enforce these rules and demand they either get changed or get out.

If you can nail the above then mission accomplished. You have mastered how to run a gym really badly.

If you’re a gym manager and manage not to put in rules like this then well done! Let’s chat sometime.

Luckily I’m in a gym where I have the full support of the gym manager and the other Personal Trainers.

Long may this continue and if you’re a PT yourself I hope you manage to find the same.

By Chris Kershaw

Foam-Roller-3-JT.jpg

Did this article piss you off? Make you laugh? Make you want to fall asleep due to incredible boredom? I want to know. You can message me directly to the email address chris@kershawstrength.com with any hate mail or questions. You can also find me through the Facebook page ‘Chris Kershaw Strength’.

Thank you for reading guys.